Voting patterns emerge

Voting patterns at the Dunedin City Council vary, but on most votes relating to the Forsyth Barr Stadium, Crs Fliss Butcher, Kate Wilson, Dave Cull, Teresa Stevenson and Chris Staynes have voted against the project.

The exception was Cr Staynes' decision in March 2008 to vote for a motion to commit to the project.

On other issues, such as the 2009 vote to approve the Dunedin Centre and town hall redevelopment, and the decision to spend $2.8 million on land at Harbour Cone, votes have been unanimous, or close to unanimous.

Other controversial issues, such as a decision this year to go ahead with the realignment of Lovelock Ave, have been tight.

In that case, Crs Butcher, Cull, Michael Guest, Staynes, Stevenson and Wilson voted for an amendment that would have ended the project, while Crs Bill Acklin, Syd Brown, Paul Hudson, Richard Walls, Andrew Noone and Mayor Peter Chin voted against, with the Mayor's casting vote deciding it was lost.



Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter