Excellence recognised at schools

Columba College awards
Blues were presented to reward excellence in sports at a recent evening function. Thirty-eight girls received badges for coaching junior Columba teams, while year 13 girls received acknowledgement for their contribution to sport.

Promising junior sportswomen in years 9 and 10 received medals for excellence, and Otago representative badges were presented.

Trophies were presented to the team of the year, the senior A water polo team, which was South Island champion. The sports personality award, voted for by the pupils, was presented to joint winners Samantha Edgar and Stephanie Lee.

The Logan Park High School team has retained its position as the champion Dunedin fencing school.

The south region (Otago) under-20 foil competition featured a clash between Jared Howlett and Finn Butler, with Butler snatching victory in the last seconds.

The Otago open foil event also proved fruitful for Logan Park, with Howlett and Butler placing third equal. Emma Howlett was ninth in the NZ under-17 competition in Christchurch.

Butler competed in the Australian cadet foil championships in Brisbane. He was a member of the New Zealand under-17 A team that finished second against tough Australian competition.

Taieri College blues
Taieri College recently recognised pupils who had achieved academically, culturally and in the sports arena.

Ricky Welsford (wrestling) was sportsman of the year. Welsford's achievements this year include: three firsts at the Otago Championships; two South Island titles; four NZ titles; two gold, one silver and one bronze medal at the Australian championships; and selection in the national development team that went to America. He has been selected in the NZ team to compete at the Commonwealth Youth Games in India.

The sportswoman of the year was Alicia Rosevear, who received blues for netball, swimming and water polo. Rosevear reached five finals at the national second division swimming championships, with a best placing of seventh in the 100m freestyle, and she reached three finals at the South Island championships, with a best placing of fifth in the 200m backstroke.

She was also selected in the Otago under-18 water polo team and the Dunedin under-17 netball team.

Mount Aspiring College farewells its under-14 futsal team tomorrow as it leaves to represent the South Island at the Australasian champion of champions tournament in Brisbane.

The team qualified by coming second at the Otago schools tournament, and second at the South Island schools tournament.

Queens High School awardLauren Wilson, a talented member of both the Queens High School and Otago athletics squads, won the Cameron Cup.

She was first in the 100m and 200m sprints at both the Otago and the South Island schools championships. She was also second in the 200m at the national championships.

Bayfield High School awards
The Bayfield High School sports awards were presented in the Herron Hall last week.

The best individual performer was Anna-Lisa Uttley, a member of the Otago road running team, the Otago cross-country team, the Otago senior track and field team, the NZ secondary schools cross-country, road and track team and the cross-country team to compete in the world championships in Slovakia in April.

She recently set an Otago record for 16, 17, 18 and 19-year-old women when she won the 5000m in 17min 16.13sec.

Other contenders for the award were Oliver Smith (New Zealand under-18 basketball team and Koru tour), Chris Harris (first in 29er class at NZ winter yachting championships, seventh in youth division 29er class at Sydney International Yachting Regatta, fifth in 29er class at open national yachting championship 29s) and Jeff Notman (Otago cycling team, third at South Island championships, first in junior Mototapu Icebreaker event and third in South Island mountain bike cup).

Kaikorai Valley Awards
Kaikorai Valley College held its sports and cultural prizegiving recently. Five pupils received NZ honours badges along with their blues in recognition of gaining national status either by ranking, selection to a national team or winning a national title.

These students were:Cara Raal (squash) - ranked seventh in NZ at under-17 junior level, seeded fourth in Otago open women's grade and named in the NZ world junior girls training squad for 2011.

Brittany Whelan (showjumping) - first and second on two ponies at the New Zealand Grand Prix Championship.

Adam McCutcheon (motorcycle road racing) - first in the NZ road race national points series, streetstock 150 class.

Tyron Pelasio (touch) - named in the NZ under-15 tournament team, Otago age group representative, Otago touch open player of the year.

Renee Johnson (basketball) - named in the NZ under-17 team and Emerging Junior Tall Ferns, Otago age group representative in basketball, netball, touch and volleyball.

Kings High School
NZ under-18 basketball representative Ben Mackay won Kings' top sporting award, the Salter Trophy, given annually for the most outstanding achievement by a year 13 boy.

Mackay was a member of the NZ under-18 Koru basketball development tour to Australia early in the year, then made the NZ under-18 team which competed in the Australian state championships. He played eight games and made the starting line-up in each.

Mackay received his blue as a member of the school's top basketball team, was selected in the Otago under-19 team and attended the South Island high performance camp.

A promising athlete, Mackay finished runner-up in the senior athletics championship. He also found time to play cricket and rugby. He becomes the school's fourth basketball winner of the Salter Trophy after Tall Blacks great Glen Denham, sports writer Marc Hinton and long-serving NBL player Hayden Allen.

Competition for the trophy was tight this year, with five nominees - Mackay, Ben Anderson, Ryan Cambridge, Luke Johnston and Daniel Meehan.

Junior cricket
Starting tomorrow and continuing on Friday and Monday is the junior (years 9 and 10) boys cricket tournament, which comprises 50-over and twenty/20 sections.

Teams from Otago Boys (two), John McGlashan (two), Kings and Kavanagh make up the 50-over section, while Otago Boys, Taieri, John McGlashan and Tokomairiro will play two games each day in the shorter format. This will be a concentrated three days of cricket for the juniors.

On Tuesday and Wednesday next week, St Hildas (two), Otago Girls, Kaikorai Valley and Queens teams will play a twenty/20 competition, also playing two games a day. Games for both competitions will be played at various venues throughout the city including Mosgiel.

> November 12, 13, 16: Junior boys cricket, various grounds.
> November 17, 18: Junior girls cricket, Kensington Oval.
> November 20, 21: Otago junior volleyball, Edgar Centre.

- These articles are compiled by the Otago Secondary Schools Sports Assn Inc (OSSSA), which is proudly sponsored by the University of Otago College of Education.

- Contacts: Des Smith, Otago regional sports director, PO Box 6303, Dunedin. Ph 470-1337, fax 470-1786, email: des@osssa.org.nz, Website: www.osssa.org.nz


Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter