Fulbright awards for 8 Otago graduates

Eight niversity of Otago graduates have been named Fulbright New Zealand award winners, and will study in the United States.

Alice Marsh, Tom Devine, Hamish Prince, Anezka Hoskin and Emily Gordon have received Fulbright Science and Innovation Graduate Awards, and Nathaniel Otley, Ngarangi Haerewa and Laura Mackay have gained Fulbright General Graduate Awards, a spokeswoman said.

The Otago winners will further their study in law, neuroscience, public health, music, geography, genetics, physics and public policy.

Both awards amounted to about $NZ100,000 if the option of a second year of funded study was taken up, a Fulbright New Zealand spokeswoman said.

The Science and Innovation Awards were funded by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, and the General Awards jointly by the US and New Zealand Governments.


Add a Comment



Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter