Fracture clinic continues string of teaching awards

Fracture clinic registered nurse Jill Cruice (left) and enrolled nurse Ross Beaton (right) with...
Fracture clinic registered nurse Jill Cruice (left) and enrolled nurse Ross Beaton (right) with Dean of the Dunedin School of Medicine Prof Barry Taylor. PHOTO: LINDA ROBERTSON
The Fracture Clinic team at Dunedin Hospital has again taken a top award for excellence in the teaching of nursing.

The Dunedin School of Medicine Teaching Awards, voted for by medical students, were held yesterday afternoon.

Since 2012, the popular Fracture Clinic at Dunedin Hospital has won the award five times.

There to collect it on behalf of the clinic were registered nurse Jill Cruice and enrolled nurse Ross Beaton.

Jill Cruice said in her memory, the Fracture Clinic team, which fell under the orthopaedics department of the hospital, had received the award a total of about eight or nine times.

"We must be doing something right."

Students always enjoyed learning how to apply plaster of Paris, and she thought part of the clinic's teaching success was that students got to follow up with the same patients.

Amanda McCracken, of the Tuatapere Medical Centre, won the regional centre teaching award.

Ms McCracken, a nurse practitioner, speaking via videolink about the award, said she was proud to be recognised and had learned a lot from the medical students she had hosted.

"It's been a delight having the students with us," she said.

Among the departmental winners was Dr Sam Farrimond, who posthumously won the award for psychological medicine.

Prof Taylor said she was "extremely missed" by the department.

Other winners.-

Excellence in teaching: Trainee intern, Erin Taylor and Nic Theis; house officer, Stanley Leong; registrar, Jordan Davis; senior medical, John Dunbar; trainee intern, Nathaniel Carter; nursing, Paul Winder; registrar, Bryan Bae; senior medical officer, Konrad Richter; house officer, Mark Owen-Cooper; longstanding contribution, Paul Tomlinson.

Departmental: Bioethics Centre, Neil Pickering; general practice and rural health, Fons Captijn; Department of Medicine, Sierra Beck; pathology (medical laboratory science), Paul Spek; pathology (medical laboratory science), Gaylene Parslow; pathology (medical laboratory science and ALM), Jim Faed; preventive and social medicine undergraduate public health, Helen Harcombe; preventive and social medicine postgraduate Public Health, Kate Morgaine; preventive and social medicine ALM, John Holmes; surgical sciences, Pauline Ellwood, women's and children's health, Helen Paterson; outstanding teaching support, Fiona Hyland; psychological medicine, Sam Farrimond (posthumous).

Add a Comment

Local journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Otago Daily Times reporters and photographers continue to bring you the stories that matter. For more than 158 years our journalists have provided readers with local news you can trust. This is more important now than ever.

As advertising drops off during the pandemic, support from our readers is crucial. You can help us continue to bring you news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter