New chairwoman ready to continue predecessor’s work

Niamh Shaw has been elected chairwoman of the Te Kura o Tititea Mount Aspiring College School Board, following the completion of Dr Ian Hall’s tenure as a co-opted board member.

Mrs Shaw, a board member since 2022, said she was looking forward to continuing Dr Hall’s work.

Her tenure is for one year, and then another election will be held.

"Ian has been an exemplary board chair and provided outstanding governance and guidance of the board members and the senior leadership of the college.

"Like Ian, I am committed to ensuring excellent governance of the college with a focus on wellbeing and communication."

Mrs Shaw’s governance experience includes a three-year term as a Queenstown-Lakes district councillor (2019-22) and current chairwoman of Path Wānaka/ Ara ki Wānaka.

She plans to focus on supporting programmes and policies for students and staff that builds resilience around risks facing young people.

"I believe the most healthy and positive outcomes for our young people are achieved when we have open engagement among students, teachers, staff, parents, caregivers, whānau and the wider community."

Dr Hall was chairman for four years. 

Other board members are parent representatives Mark Sinclair (deputy chairman), Ben Taylor (finance committee chairman), Ruth Heath, Shona Brown, principal Nicola Jacobsen, staff representative Emma Smith and student representative Zoe Laws.