Curling: Maniototo shows class in NZ final

They took a break to play rugby on Saturday afternoon but that did not stop Sean Becker's team from winning the New Zealand curling title at Naseby yesterday.

The Maniototo team of Sean Becker, Warren Kearney, Kris Miller and Warren Dobson are all New Zealand representatives and this showed in the final at the Maniototo International Curling Rink.

They beat New Zealand representative Dan Mustapic's (Dunedin) composite team of Kenny Thomson (Auckland), Lorne de Pape (Te Awamutu) and Doug Charko (Auckland) 8-3.

Kearney travelled to Dunedin to captain Pirates and take the team to the Dunedin premier semifinals.

Miller was in the Zingari-Richmond team that lost 69-19 to Harbour and Dobson played for Maniototo.

Miller, the skip of the New Zealand junior team, played accurate stones throughout the final.

Becker got the better of Mustapic.

When he had the last stone his team usually gained two shots. He restricted Mustapic to one shot when the Dunedin skip had the last rock.

The Alexandra team of John Campbell, Murray Petherick, James Hazlett and Michael Smith beat Alan Langille (Auckland) 11-10 on the extra end in the play-off for the bronze medal.

Bridget Becker skipped the Maniototo team of Brydie Donald, Marisa Jones and Natalie Campbell that beat the Auckland combination of Chelsea Farley, Emily Whelan, Tessa Farley and Pthieya Jeyaranjan 11-1 in the women's final.

They got on top from the start and had control of the house throughout the game.

Wendy Becker skipped a composite team with Aucklanders Elizabeth Matthews, Christine Bewick and Pauline Farra that beat the Maniototo combination of Lucy Harris, Lucy Lane, Abby Pile and Lisa Anderson 9-3 in the play-off for the bronze medal.

Gerald Dowling, the chairman of the Maniototo International Curling Rink, made a special presentation to Sean and Bridget Becker for winning a silver medal in the world championship mixed pairs in Russia in April.


Add a Comment