Three new faces on Otago Peninsula board

Of Dunedin's six community boards, it is the Otago Peninsula board that will have the most new faces after Saturday's election.

The seats of three members not standing again, including chairman John Bellamy, will be filled by Portobello ecologist Paul Pope, tourism worker Christine Neill (wife of re-elected Otago Regional councillor Sam Neill) and social worker Edna Stevenson.

They will join re-elected members Portobello policeman Lox Kellas, last term's deputy, Christine Garey, and Royal Albatross Centre and Blue Penguin Pukekura manager Hoani Langsbury.

There is only one new member each on the Chalmers and Saddle Hill boards.

On the Chalmers board, that is Port Chalmers businessman Pete Cole.

Members re-elected were Steve Walker, Mel Aitken, Trevor Johnson, Raewynne Pedofski and Ange McErlane.

Chairwoman Jan Tucker's retirement left one spot vacant and Mr Cole was one of 12 candidates contesting the election.

Mr Cole said he wanted to push for a reduction in the speed limit for trucks in Port Chalmers' main street. The new member on the Saddle Hill Community Board, Leanne Stenhouse, joins re-elected members Scott Weatherall, John Moyle, Keith McFadyen, Jonathan Usher and Pamela Jemmett.

A stay-at-home mother, Ms Stenhouse was very pleased to be able to represent her community and help the existing committee continue its good work, she said.

The six-member Mosgiel Taieri, Strath Taieri and Waikouaiti Coast community boards were all elected unopposed.


Add a Comment






Local journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Otago Daily Times reporters and photographers continue to bring you the stories that matter. For more than 158 years our journalists have provided readers with local news you can trust. This is more important now than ever.

As advertising drops off during the pandemic, support from our readers is crucial. You can help us continue to bring you news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter