In a class of their own

Photo by Linda Robertson
Photo by Linda Robertson
Prime Minister John Key (left) and Otago Daily Times editor Murray Kirkness with the newspaper's 2014 Class Act recipients (front row, from left): Phoebe Steele and Modi Deng (Columba College), Zoe Hancox and Mathilde van Baarle (Blue Mountain College), Anna Grimaldi and Elliot Tay (Bayfield High School).

Second row (from left): Emilee Oldham and Paige Church (East Otago High School), Max Rayner and Georgia Vessey (Dunstan High School), Rachel Clark and Jacinda Morton (Cromwell College).

Third row (from left): Thomas Johnson and Emily Hooper (Kaikorai Valley College), Paddy Ou and Vivian Griffiths (John McGlashan College), Jessica McIntyre and Laura Bolger (Gore High School).

Fourth row (from left): Mathew Denys and Connor Seddon (Logan Park High School), Wali Aman and William Meiklejohn (King's High School), Hamish Prince (Kavanagh College).

Fifth row (from left): Eden Brown and Kasper Humphrey (Mount Aspiring College), Simon Neilson and Ruby Albert (Maniototo Area School), Leaha Dickey and Holly Shaw (Lawrence Area School).

Sixth row (from left): Anna Wise and Tahlia Moir (Roxburgh Area School), Bokyong Mun and Shirley Zhang (Otago Girls' High School), William Pelet and Andrew Trembath (Otago Boys' High School).

Seventh row (from left): Christopher Kearney and Isobel Ryan (St Kevin's College), Harriet Keown and Claudia Paterson (St Hilda's Collegiate School), Samantha Scholten and Matawai Uitime-Nicolls (Queen's High School).

Eighth row (from left): Rebecca Murray and Bart Lind (Taieri College), Mikayla Latta and Sophie Erwood (South Otago High School), Bridget Hurrell and Sarah Martin (St Peter's College).

Ninth row (from left): Brittany Scott and Lydia Hammersley (Tokomairiro High School), Tyler Ford and Ellen Sharp (The Catlins Area School).

Tenth row (from left): Stephanie Arrowsmith and Kirsty McCorkindale (Wakatipu High School), Gabriela Napier and Iri Smith (Waitaki Girls' High School), Damien Kitto and Tim Craig (Waitaki Boys' High School).

Add a Comment



Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter