Local Heroes' efforts marked

Kiwibank Local Hero medal winners (front, from left) Charlotte Aarden, Lox Kellas, Gordon Divers,...
Kiwibank Local Hero medal winners (front, from left) Charlotte Aarden, Lox Kellas, Gordon Divers, Heather McGregor, Sze-En Watts (Unicrew); (middle, from left) Keryn Tubbs, Holly Robinson, Ashleigh Smith, Nikki Cockburn, Carly Laughton; (back, from left) Michael Paardekooper, Scott Weatherall, David Brown, Anna Hoek-Sims and Peter Lewis. Absent: Hayden Paddon, Peter Watts, Kevin Moore. PHOTO: PETER MCINTOSH
Everyday  people doing exceptional things were rewarded at the Local Hero Awards in Dunedin last night.

As part of the 2017 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards, the 18 winners of the Local Heroes category were awarded medals at a ceremony held at The Petite Fleur.

The medals were presented by Dunedin city councillor Rachel Elder, who congratulated the recipients and said it was vital the community continued to acknowledge the contributions they had made.

"Many of these medal winners are unsung heroes whose selflessness has had a profound effect on the lives of so many in the community.

"Those acts of charity, optimism and commitment are the glue that hold a community together, and as a community we must stand alongside one another and give thanks for their efforts.''

The recipients were: Scott Weatherall, Lox Kellas, Heather McGregor, Michael Paardekooper, Ashleigh Smith, Charlotte Aarden, Hayden Paddon, Peter Watts, Keryn Tubbs, David Brown, Anna Hoek-Sims, Kevin Moore, Nikki Cockburn, Peter Lewis, Carly Laughton, Gordon Divers, Holly Robinson, and Unicrew/Sleep Out Team.

Otago Rescue Helicopter chief pilot Graeme Gale, of Dunedin, is also on the list, but because he is a previous medal recipient, he is not eligible for a second medal.

However, he will be considered alongside the other medal recipients, for the national award, which will be announced on February 22.

Nearly 350 medals have been presented nationwide this year.

Add a Comment







Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter