Otago team top debaters

The Otago University Debating Society (OUDS) has won New Zealand's top debating tournament, ending Victoria University's eight-year winning streak.

Otago One beat Auckland One in the final in Wellington this week, winning the Joynt Scroll for the first time since 2004.

OUDS publicity officer Paul Hunt said the win was evidence of how far Otago University debating had come in recent times.

The society ''pretty much clean sweeped'' the tournament, with Otago One team members Olivia Hall named best speaker and Kieran Bunn named captain of the New Zealand team. OUDS president John Brinsley-Pirie was named best adjudicator.

Mr Hunt said the intense preparation which went into Otago hosting this year's Australs (Australasian inter-varsity debating championships) had ''ramped our performance level up another notch''.

Add a Comment