Curling teams mark 125 years

Eight teams took to the ice yesterday as part of the New Zealand Curling Association's 125th anniversary celebrations.

The Becks, Dunstan Creek, Garibaldi, Kiwi, Manorburn, Naseby, Oturehua, and Upper Manuherikia teams each played four 10-end games.

Association secretary, Murray Petherick, said about 25 clubs from all over New Zealand would be represented during the two days of the event on the outdoor rinks at Alexandra and Naseby, and at the indoor rinks in Dunedin and Gore.

"It's appropriate that the celebrations are held here because Central Otago is the hub of curling in New Zealand."

A President's Selections versus Chairman's Selections tournament will take place at the Maniototo Curling International's indoor curling rink in Naseby from mid-afternoon today, followed by a jubilee dinner tonight at the Ranfurly Stadium, which is expected to attract about 100 people.

Thetwo guest speakers at the dinner are Peter Wardell, who was recently appointed chef de mission for the New Zealand youth team heading to the Winter Olympics next year in Innsbruck, and Bill Godsall, of Sport Otago.

The new jubilee trophy, donated by association president James Hazlett, will be presented to the winning team at the dinner.

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter