Cricket: Six clubs to mark 125th anniversaries

The long rugby tradition in Otago will be highlighted when six clubs celebrate their 125th anniversaries this year.

Four city clubs have functions planned for Queens Birthday weekend and the Lawrence function is at Easter.

Tapanui, the other club reaching this milestone, has nothing special planned.

The Otago University club has dominated Dunedin rugby for the past 100 years and has won 47 banners.

The club has also produced 44 All Blacks, the most by any in New Zealand.

The most noted player from the University club is David Kirk, who captained the All Blacks when they beat France to win the World Cup in 1987.

Other All Black captains who played for the club include Ron Elvidge, Chris Laidlaw, and Taine Randell.

John Leslie captained Scotland.

Southern is the club that best epitomises the Cavanagh tradition that made Otago rugby great.

It was continued by Laurie Mains as the Otago and All Black coach.

The club hopes to have all of its living All Blacks back for the 125th celebrations.

All Blacks Gary Seear and Laurie Mains are expected to give talks about the club's tradition.

A special guest of honour at the Green Island celebrations will be Jack McLachlan, who coached the club to three banners in the 1970s.

Former All Blacks from the club attending the reunion will be Mervyn and Lyn Jaffray and Greg Cooper.

The guest speakers will be 1974 Commonwealth Games 10,000m champion Dick Tayler and heart surgeon Dick Bunton, who was a member of the winning team in the 1970s.

The guest speakers at the Kaikorai celebrations will be former All Black captain Graham Mourie and former All Black assistant coach Tony Gilbert.

Gilbert coached the 1997 Kaikorai team to its first banner win since 1921.

Brendan Laney, a key player, is attempting to get most of the 1997 winning team to the reunion.

The four city clubs will have a day of celebration on Queens Birthday Saturday at their home grounds.

The metropolitan match committee has drawn all club teams at their home grounds.

University A will play Dunedin at the University Oval, while Kaikorai will play its old rival, Alhambra-Union, at Bishopscourt.

Green Island will play Taieri at Miller Park and Southern will be pitted against Pirates at Bathgate Park.

This is a traditional game for the Jack Hore Memorial Trophy.

The former Southern club All Black also had an association with Pirates.

Lawrence will have a day of rugby at its home ground of Simpson Park on Easter Saturday.

Former Otago representative and country coach David Latta will speak at the aftermatch function.

Dunedin rugby clubs celebrating 125th anniversaries

University A

Established: 1884
Home ground: University Oval.
Dunedin banners: 47.
All Blacks: 44.


Established: 1899 from Caversham (1884) and Pacific (1884).
Home ground: Bathgate Park.
Dunedin banners: 21.
All Blacks: 22.


Established: 1884.
Home ground: Bishopscourt.
Dunedin banners: 13.
All Blacks: 14.

Green Island

Established: 1884.
Home ground: Miller Park.
Dunedin banners: 3.
All Blacks: 4.





Add a Comment