MacDonald, Graeve win all Lawrence stages

Caleb MacDonald and Kerran Graeve navigate a tricky section of the Lawrence Rally at the weekend....
Caleb MacDonald and Kerran Graeve navigate a tricky section of the Lawrence Rally at the weekend. PHOTO: GEOFF RIDDER
Caleb MacDonald and co-driver Kerran Graeve piloted their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6 to win the Lawrence Rally at the weekend.

The pairing won all five stages in the fifth round of the Mainland Rally Championship.

David Quantock and Grant Marra (Skoda Fabia AP4) were second and Dylan Thomson and Richard Fairhall (Ford Fiesta ST150 2.3) third.

Thomson now has the overall lead in the championship with one event remaining.

MacDonald’s win gave him the lead in the class D (4WD) section of the championship with a golden opportunity to secure the title. Josh Marston is 10 points adrift but has missed the last two rounds, while Dave Ollis is third, 18 points behind Marston.

Mike Matheson/Gordon Legge (Toyota Vitz) finished ahead of class A (2WD 0-1300cc) leaders Pat Norris/Geoff Parr (Toyota Yaris). A narrow four-point difference heading to the final round means it may be too close to call.

Jonty Brenssell won class B (2WD 1301-1600cc) ahead of a strong showing by Thomas Paul (Honda Civic), who finished sixth overall. Kerry Sloan (Toyota Starlet) managed to increase his class lead to seven points over David Birkett (Toyota Levin).

Hayden Shakespeare (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 3) has secured the class E (pre-1996 classic 4WD) title with an unassailable 26-point lead over Mike Barltrop (Subaru Impreza), who did not enter the Lawrence Rally.

It is close in the Historic Class F, with Tim McIver (Ford Escort Mk2) first home, reducing Ally Mackay’s (Ford Escort Mk1) lead to just 10 points.

Tom Milliken has secured the class H (Subaru H6) title with an unassailable 28-point lead over James Macdonald.

The final and deciding Westland Rally round is on November 25.

— Staff reporter