Leading lights recognised at centre awards

Lee-Anne Anderson.
Lee-Anne Anderson.
Many of Dunedin Netball's top achievers were recognised at its 2017 prizegiving on Monday night.

The personality of the year award went to former Dunedin Netball general manager Lee-Anne Anderson.

Anderson finished in her role earlier this month after three years with the centre.

She was one of three to win special awards, the others being Clare Malthus, who took home most valuable contribution, and Stephanie Brenssell, who won the outstanding leadership award.

Kirstin Scully was presented with the contributions to Dunedin representative netball award and Sophie Johns won the contributions to coaching award.

Most valuable player and best team contribution awards were presented for A and B representative teams in each grade.

Those to win most valuable player from the A teams were Kate Heffernan (under-19), Rachel Beattie (under-17), Talei Pelasio (under-15), Grace Southby (under-14), Gemma Rowcroft (year 8) and Sophia Tutty (year 7).

Meanwhile, team contributions for the A teams went to Clora Quinlan-Thompson (under-19), Megan Borst (under-17), Anna Young (under-15), Brooke Callon (under-14), Riley Piebenga (year 8) and Demi McAlwee (year 7).

Gracey Farquharson was best senior umpire, while Kathy Ferguson won the Dunedin Netball Centre umpire achievement cup.

Dorothy Jacobsen was the most dedicated umpire, and Colby Allen and Bridget Sim won best junior and intermediate umpire respectively.

Jean Rowley won the technical officials' appreciation award.

Southern Magpies won the team award for the night league, while Phys Ed A won the award for highest goal average.

Best premier secondary schools senior, intermediate and junior team awards went to Columba Senior B, St Hilda's 10A and Taieri College 9A respectively.


Add a Comment