Otago athletes feature in Halberg longlist

Cool Wakushima. Photo: Getty Images
Cool Wakushima. Photo: Getty Images
Otago was well represented in yesterday’s Halberg Award longlist.

Ten athletes from the province were nominated across all four individual award categories.

It was the female athletes that led the way, as four were longlisted for sportswoman of the year.

Snowsports duo Zoi Sadowski-Synnott and Alice Robinson, from Wanaka and Queenstown respectively, were both nominated.

Three-time motocross world champion Courtney Duncan and cyclist Mikayla Harvey also made the list.

Two from Otago also made the sportsman of the year longlist.

Alexandra canoe slalom star Finn Butcher and freeskiier Nico Porteous both featured, while Southland cyclist Corbin Strong was also included.

Otago athletics duo Anna Grimaldi and Holly Robinson, who compete in long jump and javelin respectively, were both listed in the para-athlete of the year category.

They each won gold medals at the Tokyo Paralympics.

Olympic swimmer Erika Fairweather and Queenstown snowboarder Cool Wakushima were also listed as prospects in the emerging talent of the year category.

The awards will be held on February 23 next year and take into account achievements over the past two years.

This is a change to the normal 12-month time span, as last year’s awards revealed champions of the decade, due to the impact Covid-19 had on the 2020 sporting year.

Full list of nominations. —

Sportsman: Aaron Gate (cycling), Andy Maloney (sailing), Campbell Stewart (cycling), Chris Wood (football), Corbin Strong (cycling), David Nyika (boxing), Dylan Schmidt (gymnastics), Finn Butcher (canoe slalom), George Bennett (cycling), Hamish Bond (rowing), Hayden Wilde (triathlon), James McDonald (racing), Josh Junior (sailing), Kane Williamson (cricket), Lewis Clareburt (swimming), Nico Porteous (freeskiing), Paul Coll (squash), Scott Curry (rugby sevens), Scott Dixon (motorsport), Scott McLaughlin (motorsport), Shane van Gisbergen (motorsport), Tom Walsh (athletics).

Para athlete/team: Anna Grimaldi (athletics), Danielle Aitchison (athletics), Emma Foy and Hannah van Kampen (cycling), Holly Robinson (athletics), Lisa Adams (athletics), Nicole Murray (cycling), Sarah Ellington (cycling), Sophie Pascoe (swimming), Tupou Neiufi (swimming), Will Stedman (athletics).

Sportswoman: Alice Robinson (skiing), Courtney Duncan (motocross), Ellesse Andrews (cycling), Emma Twigg (rowing), Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), Luuka Jones (canoe slalom), Lydia Ko (golf), Mikayla Harvey (cycling), Niamh Fisher-Black (cycling), Sarah Hirini (rugby sevens), Ria Percival (football), Dame Valerie Adams (athletics), Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowboarding).

Team: Black Caps (cricket), Black Ferns Sevens (rugby), Team New Zealand (sailing), Marcus Daniell and Michael Venus (tennis), men’s madison, Aaron Gate and Campbell Stewart (cycling), men’s team pursuit (cycling), New Zealand golf croquet team (croquet), Long Blacks (long drive golf), OlyWhites (football), Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (sailing), men’s eight (rowing), Silver Ferns (netball), women’s K2 500, Lisa Carrington and Caitlin Regal (canoe racing), women’s pair, Kerri Gowler and Grace Prendergast (rowing).

Coach: Aaron McIntosh (windsurfing), Allan Bunting and Cory Sweeney (rugby sevens), Craig Palmer (cycling), Dale Stevenson (athletics), Danny Hay (football), Gary Hollywood (swimming), Gary Stead (cricket), Gordon Walker (canoe racing), Nathan Luce (canoe racing), Roly Crichton (para swimming), Sheldon Kemp (para swimming), Tony O’Connor (rowing).

Emerging talent: Connor Bell (athletics), Cool Wakushima (snowboarding), Devon Briggs (para cycling), Erika Fairweather (swimming), George Snook (canoe slalom), Grace Nweke (netball), Luca Harrington (freestyle skiing), Marko Stamenic (football).


Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter