Swimming: Successful final day for Otago team

Dunedin swimmers grabbed a bucketful of medals on the final day of the South Island championships in Blenheim.

A haul of nine individual gold medals on the third and final day on Sunday gave the Dunedin Swimming Coaching Board team a total of 31 gold, 20 silver and 13 bronze medals for the meet.

Caitlin Deans, who had broken records earlier in the meet, broke the 12-13 years 400m freestyle record, firstly in the heat in 4min 27.7sec, and then in the final in 4min 27.38sec.

Kurt Crosland broke the Otago open 100m breaststroke record in 1min 2.07sec.

The impressive efforts meant Otago won the trophy for the best performed regional team for the second year in a row.

The Dunedin team was made up of just under 40 swimmers, the majority from Neptune. The team was coached by Gennadiy Labara.


South Island champs
Medalists on the final day.-

Gold: Thomas Heaton (13-14 400m freestyle), Caitlin Deans (13-14, 400m freestyle), Michael Gray (15-16 400m freestyle), Kurt Crosland (17-over 50m freestyle, 200m backstroke, 100m breaststroke), Han Zhang (15-16 100m breaststroke, 100m butterfly), Courtland Ellis (13-14 100m breaststroke).

Silver: Jeremy Tasker (17- 400m freestyle,100m butterfly), Stefannie Gillespie (17-, 400 freestyle), Courtland Ellis (13-14, 200m backstroke), Benjamin Gray (17-, 200m backstroke).

Bronze: Nick Tyrrell (100 butterfly), Matthew Glassford (100m breaststroke), Tegan Duncan (100m breaststroke), Michael Gray (200m backstroke), Alice Moran (200 backstroke).



Add a Comment