Tony Lepper new Central Otago mayor

Tony Lepper.
Tony Lepper.
After three terms serving his "apprenticeship" as deputy mayor, Tony Lepper has won the top job in his first bid at the mayoralty.

He won by more than 500 votes over his nearest rival, businessman Jeff Hill, while sitting mayor Malcolm Macpherson polled the lowest of the three candidates.

Mr Lepper (54) is a company director, of Earnscleugh, who has been a Central Otago District Councillor for 21 years.

Dr Macpherson had served three terms as mayor.  

Preliminary results: Tony Lepper, 2959. Jeff Hill 2410, Malcolm MacPherson 2343.

The Central Otago District Council was elected unopposed. It is: Stephen Battrick, Graeme Bell, Martin McPherson, Neil Gillespie, Terry Emmitt, Gordon Stewart, Tony Lepper, Clair Higginson, Barry Becker, John Lane, John Kerr.

For Central Otago community board results click here




Add a Comment


Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter