AgITO awards

AgITO award winners Thomas Humphries (New to Farming), Shane Bichan (Outstanding Junior Trainee,...
AgITO award winners Thomas Humphries (New to Farming), Shane Bichan (Outstanding Junior Trainee, Trainee of the Year), Brendon Morrison (Outstanding Senior Trainee), Craig Arnerich (Best Practical Skills) and Jim Hamilton (Farmer Trainer of the Year)....

The Agriculture Industry Training Organisation (AgITO) celebrated the achievements of its students and participating employers in Balclutha recently.

South Otago and Taieri dairy, sheep and beef industry trainees were recognised for attaining a range of qualifications.

The awards have been running since 2004 and celebrate the achievements of farm trainees, as well as paying tribute to the many farmers and employers who offered on-farm or on-site training to students.

Dairy farmer Shane Bichan was named Trainee of the Year, the top title, as well as Outstanding Junior Trainee.

Clutha deputy mayor Hamish Anderson said it was important the farming industry had well-trained staff.

AgITO award winners: - New to Farming : Thomas Humphries, Outstanding Junior Trainee, Trainee of the Year : Shane Bichan, Outstanding Senior Trainee: Brendon Morrison, Best Practical Skills: Craig Arnerich and Farmer Trainer of the Year: Jim Hamilton.

Award finalists: - New to Farming: Elizabeth Stevenson, Lisa Fryer. Best Practical Skills: Israel Smith, Michelle Hattingh. Outstanding Junior Trainee: Bryce Vreugdenhill, Kirstin Powell.

Outstanding Senior Trainee:- Lynsey Selcraig, Thomas Utting. Employer/Farmer Trainer of the Year: Jenny Geddes, David McInnes.



Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter