Forestry service launch

Shane Jones
Shane Jones
A new forestry service was launched in Rotorua on Friday, honouring a coalition commitment between New Zealand First and Labour to support regional development.

Forestry Minister Shane Jones said the launch of Te Uru Rakau was the first step in re-establishing a forestry service in New Zealand.

"This Government has been clear about its commitment to New Zealand’s forestry sector and the One Billion Trees planting programme.

"I believe Te Uru Rakau will play a key role in supporting and promoting our vision for a flourishing forestry sector, delivering sustainable jobs in our regions, forestry workforce development and training, economic growth, while helping meeting our country’s climate change targets."

Budget 2018 would set aside $15 million of operating funds to boost the capability of the new service, enabling it to work with landowners, provide forestry expertise and deliver on the Government’s forestry objectives, Mr Jones said.

The minister also announced a new ministerial advisory group to provide independent advice about the forestry sector.

It  will be chaired by Dr Warren Parker, chairman of the New Zealand  Conservation Authority. Other members are: James Palmer, David Rhodes, Robert Green, Gina Solomon, Henare Walker, Charlotte Servern, Brian Stanley, Fiona Kingsford and Neil Cullen.

Add a Comment