Inaugural theatre awards

The inaugural Otago Southland Theatre Awards (Ostas) will be presented in Dunedin next year.

The Ostas are open to the 15 New Zealand Musical Theatre Federation members from North Otago to Southland and are about ''acknowledging those who have excelled'', Ostas convener Helen Horsnell says.

The judging panel will be Murray Davidson, of Dunedin, Alex Derbie, of Queenstown, Lynette Budge, of Oamaru, and Robyn Gardner and Margaret Jackson, both of Balclutha.

The awards will be announced at a black tie dinner in Dunedin on February 22.

The main award nominees are. - Best overall production: Buddy Holly Story, Alexandra Musical Society; Chicago, Oamaru Operatic Society; Chicago, Showbiz Queenstown; Hairspray, Musical Theatre Dunedin; Les Miserables, Taieri Musical Society.

Best leading male in a musical: David Snow (Chicago), Greg McLeod (Hairspray), Hunter Hill (Buddy Holly Story), Peter Storer (Les Miserables), Robert Wells (Chicago), Rodd Pearson (Annie).

Best leading female in a musical: Amanda Richards (Hairspray), Amber McLelland (Chicago), Fiona Stephenson (Chicago), Kylie Price (Les Miserables), Nichole McLean (Chicago).

Best leading male in a play: Kelly Keenan (Death and Taxes), Ray Ashley (Death and Taxes).

Best leading female in a play: Amelia Fox (Death and Taxes), Carla Creighton (Death and Taxes), Liz Harris (Death and Taxes).

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter