Otago Uni geographers win awards

Ashraful Alam
Ashraful Alam
In their 75th anniversary year, University of Otago geographers have garnered half of a group of prestigious national geography awards.

Dr Ashraful Alam, a lecturer at the Otago School of Geography, was among four Otago winners of eight national awards for excellence recently announced by the New Zealand Geographical Society.

Dr Alam, who co-ordinates the school’s master of planning programme, gained an award from the society president for an ‘‘emerging researcher in geography’’.

He was pleased with the recognition provided by his award, and said it was also a significant achievement for the school — in the 75th anniversary year of geography teaching at Otago — to have gained four of the eight national awards, including both of the society president’s awards for best thesis in geography.

Auckland, Waikato, Massey and Victoria University of Wellington received one award each, and the overall awards would be presented at the society’s annual meeting, at Otago University in September.

Other Otago award recipients: Society president awards for best doctoral thesis in geography: Dr Emaediong Uko, Dr Swati Shah; president’s award for best master’s thesis in geography: Hamish Prince.



Add a Comment