Community board chairmen elected

Chairmen of five of Dunedin's six community boards were elected and all board members officially signed on this week at the boards' brief inaugural meetings.

Incumbent Bill Feather was re-elected as chairman of the Mosgiel Taieri Community Board, with newcomer Mark Willis as his deputy. Cr Kate Wilson has been appointed the councillor representative on the board.

Scott Weatherall was elected chairman of the Saddle Hill Community Board, after Keith McFadyen stood down from the chair, and Pam Jemmet was elected deputy chairwoman.

Cr Andrew Whiley is the appointed councillor representative on the board.

Gerard Collins was returned as chairman of the Waikouaiti Coast Community Board, with Alasdair Morrison as his deputy.

Former deputy chairman of the Chalmers Community Board Steve Walker was elected chairman, following the retirement of long-term chairwoman Jan Tucker. Trevor Johnson was elected deputy.

Cr Andrew Noone is the councillor representative on both the Waikouaiti Coast and Chalmers boards.

Christine Garey was elected as chairwoman of the Otago-Peninsula Community Board, following the retirement of previous chairman John Bellamy. Paul Pope was elected as her deputy and Cr Neville Peat is the councillor representative.

The Strath Taieri Community Board, to which Cr Mike Lord has been appointed the councillor representative, is to have its inaugural meeting next week.


Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter