Woodhouse a winner in Nats reshuffle

Judith Collins has promoted Michael Woodhouse to be her finance spokesman after Simon Bridges rejected the position because of Collins' plan to split the usual finance portfolio into two roles.

Collins this afternoon unveiled her caucus reshuffle flanked by Dunedin list MP Woodhouse, new deputy leader Shane Reti and new number 5 Louise Upston.

It has seen Bridges kept down the rankings, Andrew Bayly put at number 3 and former leader Todd Muller number 19.

It is understood Bridges was initially offered the finance role, but turned it down because he did not think Collins' decision to split the portfolio into two roles would work.

The move has cost him a spot in the top five, with Collins ranking him at number 7 and giving him justice, water, Pike River re-entry and Maori-Crown relations.

Former finance spokesman Paul Goldsmith has been given education and has dropped down the rankings to number 12.

National MP Michael Woodhouse. Photo: Getty
As well as finance, Michael Woodhouse has been given transport and is deputy shadow leader of the House. Photo: Getty Images
The New Zealand Herald's Claire Trevett revealed this week that Collins was considering carving up the finance role between former leader Bridges and Andrew Bayley.

The arrangement was likely to be loosely modelled on the Treasurer and Finance Minister split which is used in Australia, and had a brief appearance in New Zealand during the National/NZ First government of 1996 when Bill Birch was Minister of Finance and Winston Peters was Treasurer.

Typically, the Treasurer is responsible for overall fiscal policy while the Finance Minister is in charge of matters such as tax and revenue.

The finance portfolio has been held by Paul Goldsmith but it is thought he lost it after the $4 billion "fiscal hole" error in National's plan during the election campaign.

Muller has also dropped down the list and has been given trade and export growth and internal affairs.

As well as finance, Woodhouse has been given transport and is deputy shadow leader of the House.

Louise Upston has held on to social development and is number 5.

Collins has taken National Security and Intelligence, pacific peoples as well as technology while deputy Shane Reti will retain health and will take on the children portfolio.

Bayley, a Collins loyalist and chartered accountant, will be the shadow treasurer and take on the infrastructure and statistics portfolios.

Mark Mitchell has been ranked number 13 and will hold the public service, SOEs and sports and recreation portfolios.

Collins was tight-lipped about the reshuffle yesterday after being re-elected as leader, with Reti installed as deputy.

She would only confirm Reti would be keeping the health portfolio but said she would be looking to reward "talent, hard work and loyalty to the party" and promised it would be "surprising".

After National's disastrous election result, which saw it win just 25.6% of the vote, the size of the party's caucus was dramatically reduced from 55 MPs last term to just 33 this time.

The full list

1. Judith Collins
National Party Spokesperson Allocations Pacific Peoples
Technology, Manufacturing & Artificial Intelligence

2. Shane Reti

3. Andrew Bayly
Shadow Treasurer (Revenue)

4. Michael Woodhouse
Deputy Shadow Leader of the House

5. Louise Upston
Social Development & Employment
Social Investment
Whānau Ora
Land Information

6. Todd McClay
Economic Development
Small Business
Commerce & Consumer Affairs
Associate Pacific Peoples

7. Simon Bridges
Pike River Re-entry
Māori-Crown Relations

8. Chris Bishop
Covid-19 Response
Shadow Leader of the House

9. Melissa Lee
Broadcasting & Media
Digital Economy & Communications
Ethnic Communities

10. Scott Simpson
Workplace Relations
RMA (Environment)

11. David Bennett

12. Paul Goldsmith

13. Mark Mitchell
Public Service
Sports & Recreation

14. Barbara Kuriger
Energy & Resources
Rural Communities
Food Safety
Associate Transport

15. Gerry Brownlee
Foreign Affairs
Associate Finance

16. Nicola Willis
RMA (Housing)
Housing & Urban Development
(including Social)
Associate Economic Development

17. Stuart Smith
Climate Change

18. Jacqui Dean
Assistant Speaker

19. Todd Muller
Trade & Export Growth
Internal Affairs

20. Simeon Brown

21. Matt Doocey
Chief Whip
Mental Health
Associate Social Development & Employment
Associate Health

22. Maureen Pugh
Junior Whip
Community & Voluntary Sector
Emergency Management

23. Nick Smith
Research & Science
Electoral Reform

24. Chris Penk
Shadow Attorney-General

25. Simon O'Connor
Arts, Culture & Heritage
Associate Foreign Affairs

26. Erica Stanford
Early Childhood Education

27. Ian McKelvie
Disability Issues

28. Tim van de Molen
Oceans & Fisheries
Animal Welfare
Building & Construction

29. Nicola Grigg
Associate Trade
Associate Arts, Culture & Heritage

30. Christopher Luxon
Local Government
Iwi Development
Associate Transport

31. Joseph Mooney
Treaty Negotiations
Associate Defence
Associate Tourism

32. Penny Simmonds
Tertiary Education
Associate Agriculture
Associate Disability Issues

33. Simon Watts
Associate Health


The "homeless" man returns. Has she learnt nothing?




Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter