'Outstanding' residents honoured by council

Dawn Murphy
Dawn Murphy
Waitaki residents showing an ''outstanding spirit of community and service'' were recognised at the 2012 Waitaki District Council Citizens Awards on Tuesday evening.

This year, nine people from Oamaru, Palmerston, Kurow, Herbert and Hampden received awards, and a 10th person, Dawn Murphy, was honoured posthumously.

Cr Helen Stead said it was the first time an award had been given posthumously, but it was fitting Mrs. Murphy be recognised for her long involvement with the Brownies, as well as her ''prolific'' fundraising efforts for charity groups.

The award was collected by Mrs. Murphy's daughters, Kerren Crawford and Lisa Murphy.

Awards were also presented to Carl ''Barney'' Barton, of Palmerston, Sally Ann Donnelly, of Oamaru, Ivan Emslie, of Oamaru, Gordon Johnsen, of Palmerston, Barbara Jopson, of Palmerston, Isobel McLew, of Palmerston, Marion Partridge, of Herbert-Hampden, Reg Partridge, of Herbert-Hampden and John Sturgeon, of Kurow.

Mayor Alex Familton said all the recipients had embodied a spirit of community and service.

''There are a great many people in our district who provide, or have in the past provided, a long and unselfish service to many areas of the community, and yet these people are often unknown outside the areas to which they have given such unstinting service,'' he said.



Add a Comment