Silver Ferns win prestigious award

Silver Ferns assistant coach Deb Fuller and shooter Bailey Mes with the Lonsdale Cup. Photo:...
Silver Ferns assistant coach Deb Fuller and shooter Bailey Mes with the Lonsdale Cup. Photo: Getty Images
The Silver Ferns have won one of New Zealand sport's top awards.

The netball world champions were presented with the Lonsdale Cup at the Olympic Gala in Auckland last night.

It is the New Zealand Olympic Committee's most prestigious award, presented annually to the athlete or team that has made the most outstanding contribution to an Olympic or Commonwealth sport.

In 2019 the Ferns beat Australia 52-51 in the final of the Netball World Cup in Liverpool, England.

NZOC CEO Kereyn Smith extended her congratulations to the 2019 Lonsdale winners.

“Well done to the Silver Ferns who are deserved winners of the Lonsdale Cup,” said Smith.

“The Netball World Cup win united the nation and inspired athletes around the country.

"The team is generous and community focused, and are fantastic role models for girls and young women. I congratulate them and thank them for their contribution."

Minister for Sport and Recreation Grant Robertson presented the historic cup to Silver Fern Bailey Mes and Silver Ferns assistant coach Deb Fuller, who were in Auckland for the black tie dinner.

Silver Ferns head coach Noeline Taurua earlier was humbled with the award which she described as a privilege and honour.

“I would like to acknowledge the wider netball community who contributed to the Ferns success at the Netball World Cup and thank the New Zealand Olympic Committee for this special award.”

Silver Ferns world champion captain Laura Langman echoed the sentiment.

“It’s been a massive year of Netball and it’s been 16 years since we last won a Netball World Cup, so to receive such a prestigious award as the Lonsdale Cup is a special moment for New Zealand Netball.”

The Lonsdale Cup was first awarded in 1961, with Sir Murray Halberg the inaugural recipient.

Since then it has been won by a host of inspirational New Zealanders who have represented our country with pride and passion.

Past winners include Dame Valerie Adams, Lisa Carrington, Sir John Walker, Barbara Kendall, Sir Peter Snell and many more.

Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter