Otago names side to chase fifth straight title

Otago has named its team to compete for a fifth consecutive interprovincial title.

The regatta, scheduled for October 5-6 at Lake Ruataniwha, brings together teams from around the South Island.

Canterbury has provided tough competition but Otago has had the upper hand in recent years.

Several national representatives feature in the open teams, as does under-23 national rower Mark Taylor.

Eva Hofmans, who won gold in the girls quadruple sculls at the junior world championships, joins Emma Wallace, Gemma Clydesdale and Jas McIntosh in the women's team.

Fellow junior representative Ben Mason features in the men's.

He is joined by Oamaru duo Mark Taylor and Logan Docherty, who most recently rowed for the New Zealand under-23 team and under-21 team respectively.

Central Otago duo Steve Smith and Greg McLaughlan complete the team.

Both are dominant in the masters grades, although remain very strong rowers at the open level.

Under-20 squads were also named for both men and women.

Add a Comment


Advertising Feature