Highlanders name unchanged team for final

Jona Nareki has been included in the Highlanders line-up for the Super Rugby Trans Tasman final....
Jona Nareki has been included in the Highlanders line-up for the Super Rugby Trans Tasman final. Photo: Getty Images
An unchanged Highlanders line-up will take the field in Saturday's Super Rugby Trans-Tasman final.

Notably, winger Jona Nareki and lock Pari Pari Parkinson, who had both been under injury clouds, have been named in the team to face the Blues at Eden Park.

Meanwhile, hooker Ash Dixon will co-captain the side, alongside Aaron Smith, in his 100th match for the team.

The team has been in a good run of form and enters the final unbeaten in the Trans-Tasman competition.

It comes off a 33-12 win over the Brumbies in Canberra a week ago, the team having made the final courtesy of a better points differential than the Crusaders.

Highlanders team to play the Blues

Josh Ioane, Sio Tomkinson, Michael Collins, Scott Gregory, Jona Nareki, Mitch Hunt, Aaron Smith, Kazuki Himeno, Billy Harmon, Hugh Renton, Bryn Evans, Pari Pari Parkinson, Siate Tokolahi, Ash Dixon, Ethan de Groot. Reserves: Liam Coltman, Ayden Johnstone, Josh Hohneck, Josh Dickson, James Lentjes, Kayne Hammington, Sam Gilbert, Teariki Ben-Nicholas.

Add a Comment



Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter