Wine news

It might sound rather topsy turvy when Australia wins a trophy for white wine of the show, New Zealand wins the red wine trophy, South Africa wins wine of the show and Australia wins the nation of the show, but that's the result from the annual Five Nations Wine show of selected wines from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Chile and Argentina (to be six nations from next year when the United States joins).

New Zealand wines won four trophies: Akarua Central Otago Pinot Noir 2010 won red wine of the show and the pinot noir trophy; Framingham Select Riesling 2010 from Marlborough won the aromatic trophy; Matua Valley Single Vineyard Wairau Sauvignon Blanc 2010 won the sauvignon blanc trophy; and Mills Reef Elspeth Hawkes Bay Merlot 2010 won the merlot and carmenere trophy.

• Two Central Otago wines have won regional trophies in the Decanter Asian wine awards judged in Hong Kong in September.

Akarua Rose Brut Bannockburn, NV won the New Zealand Sparkling Regional Best Value Trophy, and Tarras Vineyards, The Canyon Pinot Noir, Bendigo 2009 won the New Zealand Pinot Noir Regional Trophy.

Add a Comment