Five Otago academic selected RSNZ fellows

Five University of Otago academics are among 11 researchers and scholars elected yesterday as fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand.

The science and humanities academics were elected at the society's annual meeting in Wellington.

The Otago fellows came from across the university's three main campus sites, with three in Dunedin.

They are: professor of history Tony Ballantyne; professor of chemistry Keith Gordon; professor of microbiology and immunology Frank Griffin; professor of pathology and molecular medicine Brett Delahunt, of Wellington; and professor of pathology Tony Kettle, of Christchurch.

The royal society has 382 fellows and 58 honorary fellows.

Fellows provide expert advice, promote best practice, and disseminate information on the sciences and humanities.

The society elected two honorary fellows yesterday, from the United Kingdom and Australia.

Academy chairwoman Prof Le Heron said to be elected a fellow was an honour given to top researchers.


Add a Comment