Waitaki Girls' High School junior prizes

Waitaki Girls' High School held its junior prizegiving recently. The prize list is. -

Special prizes

Ana Gaskill (essay competition); Morgan Henderson (most inspiring junior in sport); Gabrielle de Reus (award for music); Annabel Joiner (Waitaki Girls' High School Old Girls' bursary year 10); Jasmine Ng (junior sports dux); Bridget Crabbe (William Hogg scholarship); Katelyn Borrie (diligence and progress year 9); Georgina Foster (diligence and progress year 10); Serena Choie (academic excellence year 9); Gabrielle de Reus (academic excellence year 10).

Academic prizes

Year 9

Laura Adlam (diligence and progress in the arts, technology, 9TU physical education); Ria Doppenberg (diligence and progress in the arts, 9KA English, technology); Tayla Ludemann (diligence and progress in German, technology, 9KA social studies); Shinitta Murphy (diligence and progress 9TU English, Japanese, 9TU mathematics); Katelyn Naylor (diligence and progress in the arts; 9KA science; technology); Shania Vanags (diligence and progress in the arts, 9TU science, 9TU social studies); Mikayla Scarlet (diligence and progress 9KA English, 9KA physical education, 9KA social studies, technology); Katelyn Borrie (diligence and progress in the arts, 9KA English, German, 9KA mathematics, 9KA social studies, technology); Caitlin Judd (2nd 9TU physical education); Aleshia Spiers (2nd 9KO English); Rosie Streat (2nd cultural studies); Cheyenne Cunningham (2nd 9KO physical education); Mikayla Sutherland (2nd 9KA physical education); Taylor Barrow (2nd 9KO social studies); Katherine Benschop (2nd 9HU mathematics); Georgia Cairns (2nd 9KO science); Jessica Latimer (2nd 9TU English); Alena Reading (2nd technology); Sarah McIntosh (2nd 9HU physical education); Samantha Wilson (2nd 9TU mathematics); Courtney Forbes (2nd 9KA science); Philippa Elliffe (2nd 9KA English, 9KA social studies); Lininia Kaufana (1st 9KA physical education); Rebecca Scott (1st German); Bridget Crabbe (1st 9TU physical education); Emma-Kate Newlove (1st 9HU English); Samantha Palmer (1st 9KO mathematics); Danielle Johns (1st Japanese, 2nd 9KA mathematics); Brooke Smith (1st 9TU social studies, 2nd 9TU science); Hayley Tonkin (1st 9HU science, 2nd 9HU English); Lily Graham (1st 9HU mathematics, 2nd 9HU German, 9HU social studies); Izabella Hurst (1st 9KO physical education, 9KO science); Tylar Ward (1st 9KO English, 9KO social studies, 2nd 9KO mathematics); Emma Stevenson (1st 9HU social studies, 9HU physical education, 2nd the arts, Japanese, 9HU science); Lilly Downing (1st the arts, 9TU English, 9TU mathematics, 9TU science, 2nd 9TU social studies); Serena Choie (1st cultural studies, 9KA English, 9KA mathematics, 9KA science, 9KA social studies, technology).

Year 10

Courtney Batchelor (diligence and progress English, digital technology, German); Ashley Gaze (diligence and progress English, Japanese, science); Berriynah Niu (diligence and progress agriculture, English, social studies); Tanita Lind (2nd Japanese); Amelia Maynard (2nd 10TO science); Beth Cochrane (2nd agriculture); Katie Rzepecky (2nd 10RA physical education); Rebecca Sheate (2nd 10RA social studies); Grace Ramsay (2nd 10TO mathematics, 10TO social studies); Tas Taylor (2nd 10RA English, 10RA mathematics); Alex Murdoch (2nd agriculture; 10TO physical education); Talisha Lord (2nd 10RI social studies, materials technology); Tamara Gillingham (1st 10TO physical education); Morgan Henderson (1st food technology, prize for progress in science year 10); Tara Willans (1st 10RI mathematics); Rolinta Lolesi (1st 10TO mathematics); Lucy Crabbe (1st agriculture); Laura Fenwick (1st 10RI physical education); Annabel Joiner (1st art); Georgina Foster (1st digital technology); Jasmine Ng (1st 10RA mathematics, 2nd 10RA science); Alana Hamilton (1st 10TO science, 2nd 10TO English); Kate Lawrence (1st agriculture, 2nd food technology, 10RI physical education); Ana Gaskill (1st Japanese, 2nd art, 10RI English); Nicole Bond (1st German, 2nd digital technology, 10RI science); Jessica Mulligan (1st 10TO English, 10TO social studies); Emma Munro (1st 10RA English, 10RA physical education, 10RA science, 10RA social studies); Gabrielle de Reus (1st 10RI English, materials technology, 10RI science, 10RI social studies, 2nd German, 2nd 10RI mathematics).

Cultural awards

Jessica Latimer (1st equal year 9 speech); Izabella Hurst (1st equal year 9 speech); Danielle Johns (1st year 9 writing); Zelie Young (1st year 10 writing); Annabel Joiner (1st year 10 speech).

Sports awards

Tamara King (junior trampoline champion); Shontelle Willetts (junior football most promising); Georgia McBride (junior hockey player of season); Hannah Johnston (most consistent year 9 netballer); Flora Hunt (junior diving champion); Jade Rogers (junior swimming champion); Kayla Sutherland (junior tennis singles champion); Caitlin Judd and Tayla Ludemann (junior tennis doubles champions); Lininia Kaufana (junior badminton singles champion); Lininia Kaufana and Mikayla Scarlet (junior badminton doubles); Emma Gawn (badminton year 10 singles); Lucy Crabbe and Emma Gawn (badminton year 10 doubles); Brooke Smith (minor athletics champion); Jamiee Gillingham (junior athletics champion); Bridget Crabbe (junior cross-country champion); Laura Fenwick, Emma Munro, Kate Lawrence (junior triathlon team); Kate Lawrence (most improved year 10 netballer); Morgan Henderson (junior triathlon champion, intermediate cross-country champion).

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter