Robertson big mover in Labour election line-up

Grant Robertson
Grant Robertson
Labour's Wellington Central MP, Grant Robertson, formerly of Dunedin, gets a move to the front bench  and charge of the health portfolio  in the party's election-year line-up announced this morning.

Party leader Phil Goff has named a mixture of a experienced MPs and relative newcomers in his line-up.

David Parker also goes up the ranks, moving from number 10 to four, in what Mr Goff said was recognition of his strong performance in policy development.

Party whip Darren Hughes takes over the role of education spokesperson from Trevor Mallard, who picks up Shadow Leader of the House and associate finance roles.

Shane Jones moved up the ranks to number 13, while Charles Chauvel and Sue Moroney moved up to 11 and 14 respectively.

Previously unranked MPs David Shearer, Stuart Nash, Darien Fenton, Chris Hipkins, Kelvin Davis and Brendon Burns have also been moved up to key positions.

"Our MPs will be a formidable team as we count down to the election on November 26," Mr Goff said.

"We will hold the Government to account for its failure to live up to its promises and to provide the economic leadership this country desperately needs."


The Labour Party's shadow cabinet and caucus rankings announced today. Where ranking has changed, previous rankings is in brackets. Some of those promoted were not previously ranked:

1. Phil Goff. Leader, SIS.

2. Annette King. Deputy Leader, Social Policy.

3. David Cunliffe. Finance.

4. David Parker. Economic Development, Energy, Associate Finance. Shadow Attorney-General. (10)

5. Ruth Dyson. Conservation, State Services, Immigration. (4)

6. Clayton Cosgrove. Law and Order, SOEs, Associate Finance, Earthquake Recovery.

7. Maryan Street. Foreign Affairs, Trade, Overseas Development Assistance.

8. Darren Hughes. Education, Chief Whip.

9. Trevor Mallard. Shadow Leader of the House, Associate Finance, Rugby World Cup, Sport and Recreation, America's Cup.

10. Parekura Horomia. Maori Affairs, Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations. (5)

11. Charles Chauvel. Justice, Environment. (12)

12. Grant Robertson. Health, Associate Arts, Culture and Heritage. (18)

13. Shane Jones. Transport, Infrastructure, Associate Maori Affairs. (19)

14. Sue Moroney. Associate Education (ECE), Associate Health (Aged Care). (17)

15. Lianne Dalziel. Commerce, Small Business, Regulatory Reform, Electoral Reform. (13)

16. Su'a William Sio. Pacific Island Affairs, Inter-Faith Dialogue, Customs. (28)

17. Phil Twyford. Local Government, Building and Construction, Auckland Issues. (Previously unranked)

18. Moana Mackey. Housing, Associate Research, Science and Technology. (15)

19. Jacinda Ardern. Employment, Youth Affairs, Associate Arts, Culture and Heritage. (Previously unranked)

20. Nanaia Mahuta. Maori Social Development, Community and Voluntary Sector. (11)

Rick Barker (unranked -- previously 20, possible nomination for Speaker). Veterans Affairs, Courts.

21. Damien O'Connor. Agriculture, Rural Affairs, Biosecurity. (23)

22. Steve Chadwick. Junior Whip. Arts, Culture and Heritage. (16)

23. Darien Fenton. Labour, Transport Safety. (27)

24. David Shearer. Defence, Research and Technology. (Previously unranked)

25. Stuart Nash. Revenue, Forestry, Associate Trade. (Previously unranked)

26. Chris Hipkins. ACC, Internal Affairs. (Previously unranked)

27. Kelvin Davis. Tourism. Associate Education (Special Education), Associate Maori Affairs (Previously unranked)

28. Brendon Burns. Climate Change, Water, Associate Environment. (Previously unranked)

Ross Robertson. Senior Citizens, Disarmament and Arms Control, Racing.

Carol Beaumont. Women's Affairs, Consumer Affairs, Associate Education (Skills).

Clare Curran. Communications, Broadcasting.

Ashraf Choudhary. Food Safety. Associate Ethnic Affairs, Associate Research, Science and Technology.

Raymond Huo. Chinese Community Affairs, Statistics, Law Commission.

Iain Lees-Galloway. Land Information, Associate Health, Associate Defence, Associate Transport.

Rajen Prasad. Ethnic Affairs, Associate Social Development.

Mita Ririnui. Associate Treaty Issues. Associate Health (Maori).

Carmel Sepuloni. Disability Issues, Victims' Rights, Associate Social Development.

Kris Faafoi. Civil Defence, Associate Pacific Island Affairs.

Pete Hodgson. (14, Not standing for re-election)

George Hawkins. (22, Not standing for re-election)

Lynne Pillay. (25, Not standing for re-election).

Add a Comment





Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter