Greene adds Otago 5000m record

Rebekah Greene
Rebekah Greene
Rebekah Greene has added a third Otago senior record to her name.

The 26-year-old ran a time of 16min 30.85sec to take 3sec off Shireen Crumpton’s senior women’s 5000m record at the Caledonian Ground on Saturday.

It goes alongside the 1500m and 3000m senior women’s records she also holds.

Including age-grade records, she holds 22 individual Otago records — more than anyone else — alongside two age-grade 4x400m records.

The race also doubled as the Otago 5000m championships, a title Greene comfortably bagged.

On the men’s side, Kirk Madgwick won a much tighter race to claim the men’s title.

His 15min 50.24sec left him 1sec ahead of Nic Bathgate and Oliver O’Sullivan, who were separated by just 0.01sec.

The Otago combined event championships were also held on Saturday.

South Canterbury’s Christina Ryan won the senior women’s heptathlon from Taieri sisters Joccoaa and Leonie Palmer.

Ariki’s Shay Veitch won the open men’s decathlon.

Taieri’s Isabelle Henderson won the under-18 women’s heptathlon, while Jorja Gibbons, also of Taieri, won the under-16 grade.

Brothers Cameron and Luke Moffitt won the under-18 decathlon and under-16 octathlon respectively.

In other events, Taieri’s Felix McDonald claimed the men’s 100m-200m double in 11.16sec and 22.43sec respectively.

Aspiring’s Laura McCulloch won the women’s double in 12.70sec and 25.73sec.

Taieri’s Dyani Shepherd-Oates impressed in the hammer, throwing 50.01m.

In the javelin, Taieri’s Ethan Walker threw 53.63m, while clubmate Anton Schroeder managed 52.71m and Paralympian Holly Robinson threw 40.64m in the women’s competition.

In Hastings, Hill City-University’s Rosie Elliott finished third in the 100m at the Potts Classic.

She posted a wind-assisted 11.52sec in the heats, before running 11.76sec in the final.

Zoe Hobbs won the race in 11.38sec, while Georgia Hulls was second in 11.74sec.

Those three and Nat Eady then combined as a 4x100m relay team and clocked a time of 45.70sec.

Joshua Baan finished fourth in the New Zealand championship 3000m race.

His time of 8min 31.48sec was just 0.11sec off bronze medallist Steven Langdon.

The Classic series now takes a break until February 15, when the Porritt Classic is held in Hamilton.

Add a Comment