Hanna life member of Bowls Dn

Geoff Hanna.
Geoff Hanna.
Geoff Hanna reached the pinnacle of his career in bowls administration when he was elected a life member at the 110th annual meeting of Bowls Dunedin this week.

Hanna (72) joined the Limehills Bowling Club in Southland 43 years ago when he was teaching in the district. He also became the secretary of the Western Southland Bowling sub-association.

He joined the Opoho club when he shifted to Dunedin to become deputy principal of  Mornington Primary School in the 1970s. He joined the Mornington Bowling Club 30 years ago.

Hanna is only the third member of the Mornington club to become a life member of Bowls Dunedin since the formation of the club in 1908. The others are Ken Miller (1982) and Molly Drumm (1989).He is only the sixth life member to be elected since the amalgamation of men’s and women’s bowls at the end of 2001 to form Bowls Dunedin.

The others are Ian Roche (Tainui) and Ken Stott (Roslyn) in 2003, Margaret Malcolm (Port Chalmers) and Margaret Grubb (Waikouaiti) in 2004 and Dorothy Burnard (Green Island) in 2011.

Hanna has been a centre executive or board member since 1999 and had two stints as president of Bowls Dunedin in 2006-07 and 2016-17. He was chairman of the board from 2014-16.

This was Hanna’s third life membership in bowls. He was given the honour with the Mornington Club and with Kitty Hawks Dunedin in 2015.

His wife, Patsy, is also involved in bowls administration and has been the Mornington club’s executive delegate for a decade.

Geoff and Patsy have both won one Bowls Dunedin title. His brother, Bruce, has represented Southland at bowls.

Hanna spent 22 years teaching before becoming a financial adviser for the next 22 years before his retirement.

Hanna’s expertise in finance has helped both the Mornington club and Bowls Dunedin and has been his major contribution to the sport.

The Mornington club put in a $220,000 all-weather bowling green eight years ago, and Hanna’s main contribution with Bowls Dunedin has been finding sponsorship and setting a budget for representative teams.

Jan Tucker was elected president and Dennis Sharp vice-president at the annual meeting. The new board members are Isobel Bell (Roslyn) and David Natta (Macandrew Bay). 


Bowls Dunedin
Officers elected

Patron: Margaret Malcolm.

Life member: Geoff Hanna.

President: Jan Tucker.

Vice-president: Dennis Sharp.

Board: Isobel Bell, David Natta, Andy McLean, Jacqui Peterson, Geoff Purdon.

Add a Comment




Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter