Thunder wins tournament

The Dunedin Thunder under-14 team won the pee-wee tournament in Dunedin last week, defeating the Melbourne Ironworks Steelers 3-2 in overtime on Saturday at the Dunedin Ice Stadium.

The Thunder played the entire tournament with only seven skaters and one goaltender  — ordinarily 10-15 skaters play plus a back-up goaltender.

The Thunder was down 2-0 going into the third and final period but scored two late goals to tie the game and force overtime. 

John McGlashan College pupil Ian Audas (13) netted the winner with less than two minutes left, while Thunder’s Breane Byck (13), of St Hilda’s Collegiate, had a stellar performance in goal, making several key saves.

Australian team NSA Selects defeated Queenstown’s Junior Stampede for third place, winning 8-3.

Anika Texley, Audas and Axel Ruski-Jones were players from southern teams who made the tournament team.

This is the sixth year for the annual tournament which will be played in Melbourne next year.

Add a Comment