Patience required from Steel’s city fans

Photo: ODT files.
Photo: ODT files.
Dunedin Southern Steel fans will be hoping June 6 is third time lucky.

That is the date of the team’s first game at the Edgar Centre in next year’s ANZ Premiership.

When the Steel does take the court against the Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic, it will be 773 days since it last played in front of its Dunedin fans.

That was something it did not get to do in 2020.

Its first game was played without fans in the initial stages of Covid-19, then the second one was cancelled when the country returned to Alert Level 2 at the end of the season.

Two weeks after the Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic clash the Edgar Centre will host its second Steel game of the season, as the Northern Stars travel to Dunedin for their game on Saturday, June 19.

Meanwhile the team will play six games in Invercargill, including its opener on April 18 against the Mainland Tactix.

It will also conclude its round-robin at Stadium Southland, against the defending champion Central Pulse, on July 24.

In total it has seven Sunday matches, alongside five on Monday nights and three on Saturdays.

ANZ Premiership

Southern Steel draw
Sunday April 18 v Tactix, Invercargill, 
6pm
Saturday April 24 v Mystics, 
Auckland, 5pm
Sunday May 2 v Pulse, Invercargill, 
4pm
Sunday May 9 Stars, Auckland, 4pm
Sunday May 16 v Pulse, Wellington, 
4pm
Monday May 24 v Tactix, Invercargill, 
6pm
Sunday May 30 v Mystics, Auckland, 
4pm
Sunday June 6 v Magic, Dunedin, 4pm
Monday June 14 v Tactix, Nelson, 
7.45pm
Saturday June 19 v Stars, Dunedin, 
5pm
Monday June 28 v Magic, Invercargill, 
7pm
Monday July 5 v Magic, Hamilton, 
7pm
Sunday July 11 v Mystics, Invercargill, 
6pm
Monday July 19 v Stars, Auckland, 
7pm
Saturday July 24 v Pulse, Invercargill, 
5pm

Add a Comment

 

Advertisement

postanote_header_620_x_80.png

postanote_620_x_25.jpg

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter