92 contest adventure race

Henry Boyle (16), of Mt Aspiring College, makes good time in the abseiling section of the South...
Henry Boyle (16), of Mt Aspiring College, makes good time in the abseiling section of the South Island secondary schools adventure racing championships. Photo by Lynda Van Kempen.
White caps on Lake Dunstan added extra excitement for competitors in the South Island secondary schools adventure racing championships at the weekend.

The endurance race around Central Otago on Saturday attracted 23 teams and all 92 competitors completed the event, organiser Bill Godsall said.

It was the second time the event, organised by Multisport New Zealand and the Southern Lakes Multisport Club, had been staged.

"The first year there were 60 competitors and this year there were more than 90, and every single one finished, which was an amazing achievement.

Some had a few grazes and one kayak sank - the rescue boats were right at hand - but everyone got to the end of the race," Mr Godsall said.

The race was started to give South Island secondary school pupils a pathway into the national adventure racing championships and competitors this year were aged from 12 to 18.

The course remained a secret until the pre-race briefing the night before the event.

It started at the Roaring Meg Power Station in the Kawarau Gorge with a run over the Pisa Range and into Lowburn, followed by a mountain bike ride through the Lowburn valley and across the Sugar Loaf to the top of Lake Dunstan.

After kayaking to Bendigo, racers completed an abseil before kayaking back across the lake.

Strong winds cut up the lake and Mr Godsall said the second kayaking leg was abandoned part-way through, for safety reasons.

The final leg of the race was around the lake back to Cromwell.

The fastest time was 7hr11min, which Mr Godsall said was "unbelievable".

It was posted by a team from Lincoln High School - Sam Thorpe, Tom Sanders, Harry Graham-Samson and Flynn Watt.

Athletes had a passport which had to be marked at each of the race checkpoints.

The last team home completed the course in 11hr 30min.

The winning girls team was made up of Paige Richmond, Nakia Randle, Deahna Shearer and Robin Pieper, of Dunstan High School, Alexandra.

Mount Aspiring College entered seven teams and won the mixed team category.

That team was made up of Lindsey Coup , Kristy Jones, Tom Rogers and Kate McDermid.


Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter