Pair share supreme award

Zoi Sadowski-Synnott
Zoi Sadowski-Synnott
Snow sports ruled supreme at the Central Otago sports awards.

Zoi Sadowski-Synnott and Nico Porteous shared the The Bruce Grant Memorial Supreme award last night.

Judges could not split the Wanaka duo, who have both excelled on the snowboarding world stage once again.

Sadowski-Synnott also claimed the senior sportswoman of the year award from a strong field of contenders.

That included skier Alice Robinson, mountain biker Jess Blewitt and multisport racer Simone Maier.

Porteous beat triathletes Dougal Allan and Braden Currie, as well as woodchopper Brad Pako for the senior
sportsman title.

Nico Porteous
Nico Porteous

The New Zealand Youth curling team won team of the year.

The coach of the year award was claimed by Dunstan Arm and Dunstan High School rowing coach Simon Smith, a volunteer who has guided the programmes to plenty of national success.

Triathlete, cross-country and track athlete Hannah Prosser won junior sportswoman of the year, while skier Gustav Legnavsky won junior sportsman of the year.

Dunstan High School head boy Josh Allan won the junior spirit award. Wanaka physio Fredia O’Connell won the senior spirit award for his open water swimming. Mary Lee won the services to sports award.

The event was attended by about 150 people.

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter