Club honours decided

The Otago and Riverton clubs missed out on the honours at the New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing club awards last night.

Otago was pipped at the post for provincial club of the year by the Whangarei Racing Club, while Riverton missed out on country club of the year, which went to the Kumara Racing Club.

Auckland Thoroughbred Racing was named metro club of the year, and shared the overall club award with Whangarei.

Waikato Thoroughbred Racing won the new club leadership award, and Racing Taupo won the new club appreciation award.