Twelve from Otago named in New Zealand squads

International regattas may be off the agenda for a while, but that has not stopped Otago commanding a strong presence on the national rowing stage.

Twelve Otago rowers were named in Rowing New Zealand squads yesterday.

The organisation made the decision not to send crews to any international regattas this year — aside from the Olympic Games and final Olympic qualification regatta — due to Covid-19.

However, the squads will meet to train together and compete at a development regatta.

Eva Hofmans headlines the group.

The former Bayfield High School pupil, who competed for Dunstan Arm this summer, has made the under-21 World Championships squad.

Hofmans won an under-18 world title in the quadruple sculls two years ago and is set to attend Yale University.

She is joined by Harry Molloy of the University of Otago, who has been named as a coxswain.

The University of Otago also had 10 rowers named across the two university squads.

Former Otago Boys’ High School star Ben Mason, who also went to the junior world championships two years ago, made the World University Championships squad.

The remainder made two eight crews for the transtasman university regatta.

Greta Hawke, Helena Rikiti, Phoebe Trolove, Sally Wylaars and coxswain Julia Coppens are in the women’s eight.

Meanwhile, Jack Chapman, James Glover, Oliver Fahey, Tom Fraser and coxswain Phoebe Barratt were named in the men’s crew.

Dunedin coach Kirsty Dunhill will coach the women’s eight.

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter