Ladyhawke big winner at Tuis

ladyhawke (Medium).jpeg
ladyhawke (Medium).jpeg
Ladyhawke swooped on six Tui awards at the New Zealand Music Awards tonight, including album and single of the year.

The Masterton-born, UK-based singer Pip Brown also carried off Tuis for international achievement, best female solo artist, breakthrough artist of the year and best dance/electronica album.

Ladyhawke's debut album has gone gold in the UK, Australia and New Zealand and reached No 16 on the UK album chart.

Other big winners were Midnight Youth and Hip Hop trio Smashproof.

Midnight Youth took home awards for best group and best rock album while Smashproof picked up Tuis for best music video (director Chris Graham), highest selling NZ single and the people's choice.

Legendary 60s group Ray Columbus and The Invaders was honoured for its contribution to New Zealand music, receiving the legacy award and being inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

The band was the first winner of a New Zealand Music award for its hit Til We Kissed.

Winners and finalists from the 2009 New Zealand Music Awards presented tonight in Auckland.

Album of the Year
Winner: Ladyhawke - Ladyhawke

The Mint Chicks - Screens
Midnight Youth - The Brave Don't Run
Cut Off Your Hands - You And I
Fat Freddy's Drop - Dr Boondigga and the Big BW

Single of the Year
Winner: Ladyhawke - My Delerium

Midnight Youth - All On Our Own
P-Money - Everything featuring Vince Harder
Smashproof - Brother
Kids of 88 - My House

Best Group
Winner: Midnight Youth

Fat Freddy's Drop
The Mint Chicks

People's Choice Award
Winner: Smashproof

Fat Freddy's Drop
Midnight Youth
The Black Seeds

Best Male Solo Artist
Winner: Savage

Dave Dobbyn
Don McGlashan & The Seven Sisters

Best Female Solo Artist
Winner: Ladyhawke

Boh Runga
Ladi 6

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Winner: Ladyhawke

Midnight Youth

Best Music Video
Winner: Chris Graham - Brother (Smashproof)

Sam Peacocke - I Can't Stop Being Foolish (The Mint Chicks)
Tim Van Dammen - Turn Around featuring Iva Lamkum (Sola Rosa)

Best Rock Album
Winner: Midnight Youth - The Brave Don't Run

The Mint Chicks - Screens
Cut Off Your Hands - You And I

Best Urban/Hip Hop Album
Winner: Ladi 6 - Time Is Not Much

Smashproof - The Weekend
Savage - Savage Island

Best Aotearoa Roots Album
Winner: Fat Freddy's Drop - Dr Boondigga and the Big BW

The Black Seeds - Solid Ground
The Woolshed Sessions - The Woolshed Sessions

Best Dance/Electronica Album
Winner: Ladyhawke - Ladyhawke

Antiform - City In Exile
Sola Rosa - Get It Together

Best Gospel/Christian Album
Winner: Mumsdollar - Ruins

Parachute Band - Technicolour
The Ember Days - EP
Primalband - Your Way

Best Classical Album
Winner: David Bremner - Gung Ho

Gareth Farr - Gareth Farr: Tangaroa
Ogen Trio and NZ Chamber Soloists - Ahi

Highest Selling NZ Single
Smashproof feat. Gin - Brother

Highest Selling NZ Album
the feelers - The Best: 1998-2008

Radio Airplay Record of the Year
Tiki Taane - Always On My Mind

International Achievement

Legacy Award:
Ray Columbus and the Invaders. They will also be inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.


Add a Comment