17 Otago academics made professors

Prof Harlene Hayne
Prof Harlene Hayne

Seventeen University of Otago academics are being promoted to the position of professor.

Vice-Chancellor Prof Harlene Hayne said the promotions highlighted the regard with which the individuals, and their work, were held, along with the integrity of their leadership.

"It also underscores the range of academic talent and expertise across the University of Otago.''

There were new professors in all four academic divisions from Dunedin, Christchurch and Wellington.

"I look forward to following with interest their teaching, research and service achievements in the future.''

Otago's promotion process involved thorough evaluation of each individual's record of contributions to research, teaching and service to the university and community, she said.

It also involved input from international experts in evaluating the candidates' research contributions.

A further 40 University of Otago academics are being promoted to associate professor.

The promotions take effect from February 1 next year.

Staff promoted to professor

Chris Brickell, department of sociology, gender and social work

Chris Button, School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences

James Crowley, department of chemistry

Lisa Ellis, department of politics; Peter Fineran, department of microbiology and immunology; Jeremy Krebs, Edgar Diabetes and Obesity Research Centre, University of Otago, Wellington

Brent Lovelock, Centre for Recreation Research, department of tourism

Brendan McCane, department of computer science

Alister Neill, department of medicine, University of Otago, Wellington

Lachy Paterson, Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies; Lynette Sadleir, department of paediatrics and child health, University of Otago, Wellington

Michael Schultz, department of medicine (DSM)

Martin Sellbom, department of psychology

Sheila Skeaff, department of human nutrition

Lois Surgenor, department of psychological medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch

Hazel Tucker, department of tourism

Ceri Warnock, faculty of law

Staff promoted to associate professor

Tobias Langlotz, department of information science; Sara Walton, department of management; Andrea Insch, department of marketing; Leah Watkins, department of marketing; Heather Brooks, department of pathology (DSM); Lianne Parkin, department of preventive and social medicine (DSM); Nicola Swain, department of psychological medicine (DSM); Joanna Williams, department of anatomy; Stephanie Woodley, department of anatomy; Stephanie Hughes, department of biochemistry; Elizabeth Ledgerwood, department of biochemistry; Joanna Kirman, department of microbiology and immunology; Kirk Hamilton, department of physiology; Peter Jones, department of physiology; Alexander Tups, department of physiology; Rebecca Grainger, department of pathology and molecular medicine (UOW); Angela Ballantyne, department of primary healthcare and general practice (UOW); Maria Stubbe, department of primary healthcare and general practice (UOW); Arlene McDowell, School of Pharmacy; Gisela Sole, School of Physiotherapy; David Ciccoricco, department of English and linguistics; Thomas McLean, department of English and linguistics; Candler Rogers, department of English and linguistics; Douglas Hill, department of geography; Wayne Stephenson, department of geography; Cecilia Novero, department of languages and cultures; Hugh Slotten, department of media, film and communication; Kay Siang Khoo, department of politics; Susan Sandretto, College of Education; Miranda Mirosa, department of food sciences; Mikkel Andersen, department of physics; Tamlin Conner, department of psychology; Gareth Treharne, department of psychology; Lynnette Jones, School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences.

Research associate professors

Kirsten Coppell, department of medicine (DSM); Yiwen Zheng, department of pharmacology and toxicology; Logan Walker, department of pathology (UOC); Jacqueline Keenan, department of surgery (UOC); James Stanley, dean's department (UOW); Ricci Harris, department of public health (UOW).

- Staff reporter

Add a Comment