University promotes academics

Fifteen University of Otago academics have been promoted to full professorships for the coming academic year.

University of Otago vice-chancellor Harlene Hayne offered her congratulations to the new professors, whose promotions take effect from today.

''The success of these candidates is a reflection of their proven records of excellence not just in terms of their fields of research but also as leaders in teaching and service to the university and community,'' Prof Hayne said.

The University of Otago selected candidates after a rigorous selection process which included advice from international experts, she said.

A further 39 University of Otago academics were promoted to associate professor level.

The new professors are: - Lutz Beckert, medicine, Christchurch campus; David Bryant, mathematics and statistics, Dunedin campus; Lisette Burrows, physical education, sport and exercise sciences, Dunedin campus; Warwick Duncan, oral sciences, Dunedin campus; Christopher Frampton, medicine, Christchurch campus; Richard Gearry, medicine, Christchurch campus; Leigh Hale, physiotherapy, Dunedin campus; David Hutchinson, physics, Dunedin campus; David Larsen, chemistry, Dunedin campus; Rhonda Rosengren, pharmacology and toxicology, Dunedin campus; Katherine Scott, psychological medicine, Dunedin campus; Geoffrey Shaw, anaesthesia, Christchurch campus; Takashi Shogimen, history and art history, Dunedin campus; Elisabeth Slooten, zoology, Dunedin campus; Stuart Young, theatre studies, Dunedin campus.

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter