NZ curlers beat Australians for trophy

Maniototo curler Sean Becker, the New Zealand men's skip, delivers a stone in the Ernslaw One...
Maniototo curler Sean Becker, the New Zealand men's skip, delivers a stone in the Ernslaw One Trans Tasman curling competition at Naseby. Photo by Craig Baxter.
New Zealand's curlers remain undefeated in the Ernslaw One Trans Tasman Tournament, which has been held annually in Central Otago for the past four years.

With a title and trophy to defend, five New Zealand teams of curlers took to the Maniototo International Curling Rink at Naseby over the weekend, to compete with curlers from Queensland, Australia.

Despite chants of "Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi", the Australians were defeated by some of New Zealand's best curlers, including New Zealand men's team skip Sean Becker.

The three-day tournament was won by Peter Becker's rink.

From 9.30am on Friday, the Naseby curling rink provided local residents, and the occasional tourist, with live, high-tension entertainment, as the coveted Otago Daily Times Trans Tasman Trophy was literally a stone's throw away for curlers.

Results. - Semi-finals: Sean Becker 8, Kris Miller 6; Peter Becker 7, Darren Carson 3.

Finals: Peter Becker 9, Sean Becker 7; Kris Miller 8, Darren Carson 2.

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter