Hobbs, Wilson elected on to Otago Regional Council

Marian Hobbs
Marian Hobbs
Interim results show Dunedin Ward Labour party candidate Marian Hobbs has been elected to the Otago Regional Council with 15,189 votes, coming in second behind former Dunedin City Councillor Hilary Calvert on 15,443.

Also elected to the Dunedin Ward are incumbents Gretchen Robertson, Andrew Noone, and Bryan Scott, and Michael Deaker.

High profile former Whanganui Mayor Michael Laws has been re-elected to a second term for the Dunstan Ward with 9,329 votes.

He will be joined by former Queenstown Lakes District Councillor Alexa Forbes, on 7806, and Gary Kelliher on 7706, while incumbent Graeme Bell missed out.

Kevin Malcolm claimed the lone Moeraki Ward seat.

Outgoing Dunedin City Councillor Kate Wilson has claimed one of the two Molyneux Ward seats, alongside incumbent Carmen Hope. 

The voter return was 41.22% being 32,679 votes, excluding votes in transit to the processing centre and special votes. 


Michael Laws, the Lee Vandervis of the ORC. Heaven help us with this North Island reject back on council.

Going to be a different regional council! An empowered M Laws, Alexa, Marian, Gary Kelliher with some pent-up scores to settle!

Watch that space. Ain't gonna be cruisy ... and, who's the chair?






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter