Jarvie new Guardian of Lakes

Nick Smith.
Nick Smith.
Te Anau's William Jarvie has been appointed as a Guardian of the Lakes by Conservation Minister Nick Smith.

Mr Jarvie, was the only new appointment to the guardians, who look after lakes Manapouri, Monowai and Te Anau.

Dr Smith also reappointed Teresa McClelland as chairwoman and Jane Davis and Muriel Johnston as the Ngai Tahu representatives, for terms of five years.

The guardians were established under the Conservation Act as a result of the Save Manapouri Campaign and had a prominent place in the history of conservation in New Zealand.

They reported annually to the Government on matters arising from the environmental, ecological and social impacts of the power schemes on the lakes, and made recommendations to the Government concerning the operation guidelines, Dr Smith said.

The other guardians are Sue Bennett, Fred Inder, Marc Schallenberg, Ian Welsh and Darryl Sycamore.

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter