Old hands and new faces to contest Southland elections

Tim Shadbolt
Tim Shadbolt
New faces and old have been nominated for Southland's various councils for the upcoming elections.

Invercargill Mayor Sir Tim Shadbolt faces three challengers from Crs Becs Amundsen and Darren Ludlow, and Steve Chernishov.

There are 29 nominations for the Invercargill City Council, with 12 vacancies to fill.

Of five vacant positions on the Bluff Community Board, there were five who were nominated.

For the six Invercargill Licensing Trust vacancies, 11 people were nominated, including the current six members of the board.

Southland District Council Mayor Gary Tong faces challenges from Don Byers and Tim Hanna as he tries for his third term.

There are 22 people in total, from all ward nominations, running for the 12 vacant council ward positions, and of the 56 community boards and subdivision vacancies, there were 61 nominations.

Environment Southland has 12 vacancies and 20 nominations.

Of those, nine are current councillors hoping for re-election.

Current city councillor Lloyd Esler was this year nominated for Environment Southland.

He said he wanted to pursue interests more related to that role and decided about six weeks ago Environment Southland would be a "good opportunity".

"I was undecided until then and decided to jump ship ... three terms is maybe enough for anybody to be on a council."

Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter