Auckland dominates; Otago finishes 8th

Laura Hoskin
Laura Hoskin
Auckland was the runaway winner of the women’s Toro interprovincial teams tournament, beating Canterbury in the final by 4-1 on the Waitikiri course in Christchurch on Saturday afternoon.

The win gives Auckland its seventh title in eight years, a Canterbury win in 2015 being the only break in Auckland’s successful run.

A final berth for Auckland was never in doubt as it swept aside Manawatu-Wanganui, winning four of the five games in the morning semifinal.

Canterbury’s success in the other semifinal went down to the wire and it looked like a draw with North Harbour after No 5 Maddie May lost the last two holes. But Canterbury No 2 Hillary O’Connor broke the stalemate, winning the final hole to halve with Harbour’s Anna An, giving her team a 3 to 2 win.

Meanwhile, Otago had to play off against the Bay of Plenty quintet to decide seventh and eighth placings.

The Bay team was too strong, winning by 3 to 1 to finish one place ahead of Otago.

Otago No 1 Laura Hoskin was in top form and had a resounding 8 and 7 win over Bay’s Rotana Howard.

Otago’s youngest player, Sumin Kang, was the only other golfer to feature when she halved with Bay No 5 Diana Syer.

Hoskin had a memorable week, scoring six wins from her seven games — the only loss being to Auckland’s Carmen Lim. Kang also had a good tournament, registering three wins and a half, while No 2 Danielle Bailey notched three wins for the week.

Add a Comment