Turanga, timeball win at awards

The $92.7 five-storey Tūranga Library opened in October last year.
The $92.7 five-storey Tūranga Library opened in October last year.
The Turanga library and Lyttelton Timeball Station are two of eight buildings recognised for their design.

The Christchurch Civic Trust awarded eight buildings last night for their contribution “to the architectural, environmental or cultural well-being of Christchurch” and commended a further five.

The civic trust applauded the city council for the design of Tūranga library.

The city council-commissioned international architectural firm Architectus to design the new central library. The $92 million building, which opened last year, was described as the “by far the most impressive and largest city-run library in the South Island” by the trust.

The city council also received an award for the restoration of Risingholme Homestead Opawa, as well as being commended on its repair of the Nurses’ Memorial Chapel and reinstatement of the Woolston Community Library.

Heritage New Zealand received an award for its revamp of the historic Lyttelton Timeball Station.

Built in 1876 to a design by architect Thomas Cane, it signalled the correct time for ships in Lyttelton Harbour until 1934 when radio replaced it as a means of maritime communication.

The reconstruction of the station after it was destroyed in the 2011 earthquake was completed in October 2018.

The Avonside Girls’ and Shirley Boys’ High Schools campus was recognised for its “quality of design and functionality of a major new learning facility and its value to the east Christchurch community.”

As a consequence of the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes, both schools were left with damaged buildings and land, which led to them combining on a single campus. The new schools were opened earlier this year at QE II Park.

The campus has four sports fields, three gymnasiums, two theatres, a cafe and a cultural space.

Category A awards:

A project that has made a material and beneficial change to the city environment, involving either development on a new site or re-development of an existing site or structure.

The city council for Turanga.

Heritage New Zealand for the Lyttelton Timeball Station.

Oxford Terrace BaptistChurch for Oxford Terrace Baptist Church.

Avonside Girls’ and Shirley Boys’ High Schools for Avonside Girls’ and Shirley Boys’ High Schools.

Fletcher Living for Atlas Quarter.

Martin Holland for 12 Julius Tce.


Stockman Group Ltd for Billens Building.

The city council for Woolston Community library.

Category B awards:

A project that has restored, upgraded or protected a site, building or group of buildings of significant heritage character or conservation value.

The city council for Risingholme Homestead Opawa.

Anup and Sadhana Nathu for 779 Colombo St.


The city council for Nurses Memorial Chapel.

Peebles Group for Magistrates’ Court Building.

Category D awards:

Special events and programmes that serve to raise the community’s awareness and appreciation of its heritage assets and or promote a sustainable environment of the city’s physical attributes.


Fiona Ferguson and Bailey Peryman for Cultivate Christchurch – Urban Farm.






Local trusted journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Star Media journalists and photographers continue to report local stories that matter everyday - yours.

For more than 152 years our journalists have provided Cantabrians with local news that can be trusted. It’s more important now than ever to keep Cantabrians connected.

As our advertising has fallen during the pandemic, support from you our reader is crucial.

You can help us continue to provide local news you can trust simply by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter