Tekapo station wins clip of year

Emily and Will Murray, of  Glenmore Station, with their award-winning fleece at the Otago Merino...
Emily and Will Murray, of Glenmore Station, with their award-winning fleece at the Otago Merino Association's Merino Excellence Awards in Queenstown. Photo by Barbara Newton.
Will and Emily Murray, from Glenmore Station, have won the Otago Merino Association's clip-of-the-year title.

Mr Murray, a fourth-generation farmer of the property on the western side of Lake Tekapo, and his wife received the award at the association's annual Merino Excellence Awards in Queenstown on Friday night.

The Sutherland family's Ahuriri Downs, from Omarama, won the commercial flock title. Bog Roy was runner-up. Glenmore won the stud flock title and Middlehurst was runner-up.

The event was a ''fantastic celebration'' of the merino industry, merino association chairman Richard Subtil, of Omarama Station, said.

The clip-of-the-year awards attracted new entrants from as far afield as Marlborough. About $4500 was raised for the Child Cancer Foundation by an auction of various items at the event, which was attended by 145 people.

FMG bought the winning fleece in the Child Cancer Foundation fleece competition - entered by the Paterson family, from Armidale, in Maniototo - for a further $2000, while the proceeds of the 140 fleeces entered in that competition are still to be added.

It was an emotional moment when Christina Perriam presented the Heather Perriam Memorial Trophy, for services to the merino industry, to Hugh Fraser, on behalf of his late partner Ann Scanlan.

Ms Scanlan, who died earlier this month, was widely respected in the industry. She was a former chairwoman of the Otago Merino Association and a long-standing committee member.

Steve and Mary Satterthwaite from Muller Station, Marlborough, won the Silere Alpine Origin merino supplier of the year award


New Zealand Wool Testing Authority Clip of the Year.-Adult - up to 16.5 micron: Horseshoe 1, The Rocks 2, The Bend 3. 16.5-17.3: Lindis Downs 1, Matarae 2, Craighurst 3.17.3-17.97: Ahuriri Downs 1, Benmore 2, Bog Roy 3.17.98-20: Middlehurst 1, Glenmore 2, Armidale 3.

Hogget - up to 15.5 micron: The Bend 1, Matarae 2, Shirlmar 3.15.5-16: Lindis Downs 1, Matangi 2, Craighurst 3.16-17: Benmore 1, Buscot 2, Twinburn 3.17-20: Armidale 1, Middlehurst 2, Mt Nicholas 3.

Child Cancer fleece competition.-Superfine (16.9 micron and finer): Merino Ridges (Bevan and Tiffany McKnight) 1, Cornaig (Peter and Ian Hore) 2, The Gorge (Jock McNally) 3.

Fine (17 micron and over): Armidale (Simon, Sarah, Allan and Eris Paterson) 1, Benmore (Andrew and Deidre, and Bill and Kate Sutherland) 2, The Rocks (Andrew and Lynnore Templeton) 3.

Overall: Armidale.

Add a Comment