Beautification efforts rewarded

Keep Dunedin Beautiful award winners (from left) Portobello Community Inc deputy chairman Geoff Sheridan and chairman Paul Pope (holding the Taylor Community Pride Shield) and Brockville Community Development Project ecological sustainability team co-ordinator Sue Morey (holding the Pod Award) show off their awards after the annual beautification awards.

The community groups received the two supreme awards at a ceremony in Dunedin yesterday.

The Portobello group's projects included creating a garden next to the public toilets, using recycled timber from the old jetty.

The group also did regular clean-ups involving the community.

In Brockville, several large-scale community clean-ups started and a community garden was planted.

In second place, Marcus and Maree Johnstone and Beverley and Tony Perry were recognised for beautifying Sligo Tce, and in third place, AKO Childcare Centre was recognised for fostering sustainability.

Dunedin Mayor Dave Cull also presented dozens of highly-commended, merit, and other awards, saying no project was too small to attract recognition.

Add a Comment